An interview with a recent RU Grad

24 10 2009

michelle

Michelle Zelazny graduated from Rowan’s TV and Film program last December. She has been in the “real” world ever since and is happy to share her experiences with us.

Q: What’s was going through your mind at graduation?

A: Well since I graduated early it was just in some ways a nice reunion. I did feel a sense of pride when i walked up on stage though.

Q: How much time passed after graduating before you landed a job in TV and film?

A: I had done a couple of freelance jobs right after I graduated for the place I interned. After that I worked on a season of Kitchen Impossible on DIY, thanks to a friend from school who I kept in touch with. At the moment, I’ve just been doing a lot of shorter random projects, since most places right now don’t want to hire long term.

Q: Do you have any advice for soon-to-be college grads in regards to anything they should do before or after graduation that might help them find/land a job?

A: Keep in touch with people from college, especially those who graduated before you. I happened to call a friend about something else and mentioned I was having a difficult time landing a steadier job. It was thanks to him I got to work on Kitchen Impossible. He helped land me the “audition” (if you want to call it that) and then I was able to prove myself and get a permanent spot on the second season. Keep in touch with professors too.

Q: What’s it like in the “real world”?

A: You have to take a lot more responsibility for your actions. What you put in is what you get out.

Q: Do you live at home? If so, what is it like to be back?

A: I do, but it works out nice at the moment because I’m saving to move out to California next year. It was a little bit of an re-adjustment, but I’m enjoying spending time with my family, since i know I’ll be moving across the country soon.

Q: Do you miss college at all? Anything you wish you did during your time at Rowan that you didn’t get to do?

A: I do in some ways, but I was done, as I knew it was my time to go. Rowan taught me a lot and now I get to further that knowledge with hands on learning on shoots. I do wish I’d studied abroad, my plan was to graduated early, which is why I didn’t. I think it would have been easier to see another part of the world.

I hope Michelle’s responses about her experiences influence you in some way, whether it is informative, helpful, motivational or just pure entertaining. There will also be other Q & A sessions in the future to look forward to so stay tuned!

Thank you Michelle!

Actions

Information

One response

14 12 2009
Final Project Interviews « Reel Life Knowledge for After College

[…] and have not done so already, please refer back to the interviews I had earlier in the year with Michelle and Professor […]

Leave a Reply

