A more personal post…

13 10 2009
College101_goofy

A student talk show I produced

A student film I acted in last year

A student film I acted in

The first image is a student film that I acted in two years ago that was about a mime. The second is a television talk show I produced and hosted which was all about college drinking: pre-gaming, drinking and hangover prevention.

I started realizing I have a love for acting in my second or third year of college and so I enjoyed being an actress in that film, even though it was only a small role. I have also acted in a few other student movies at Rowan and enjoyed acting in each one of those too.

The talk show was my idea, my “baby”, my responsibility overall so it was a whole lot of work in a small time span. I was really stressed out. Once I finished all the pre-production and planning, I started to relax. The only problem was then it was time to actually film it (LIVE!) and I was the host who did not have my questions memorized yet because I was so worried about everything else. The overall production came out well but I learned that you can never have enough questions and you should always have them memorized!!! The first segment was the worst because I ran out of questions in the first two minutes of a seven minute segment! I was repeating questions, asking dumb ones and I sounded like a fool. Luckily, the show saved itself in the second and third segment when the set was more interesting and my guests were more talkative and lively.

A big reason I find myself liking film more than television lately is because film is not so fast paced. TV production is chaotic and you have to be quick on your feet! I think it is a stressful environment. However, that said, I am thinking about interning at a television station in the spring anyway. I guess I am hoping to prove myself wrong. I want to know if I actually enjoy it or not. I already had an internship making films so I think I owe it to myself to take an internship in TV production too. If I don’t like it, I don’t like it. It will save me time in the “real world” by knowing what I want and don’t want from the start of my newly-forming career path. Plus, many big companies in television and film do not hire many new faces, so I would be getting an experience I may not have the chance of obtaining otherwise, such as after graduation.

You never know where life may take you but I am excited for the journey.

The first photograph was taken by my TV Production 1 teacher and the second, by one of my Rowan peers.

Actions

Information

One response

16 10 2009
Online Stock Trading

Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google. I have a blog on online stock trading, I’ll bookmark your site.

Leave a Reply

